Malaysia National Debating Championships Winners

Congratulations SMK Convent Ipoh (also known as Main Convent), Perak for winning the 2009 Datuk Wira Abdul Rahman Arshad National Debate Cup!

HELP Debate 2009 champions SMK King George V were national runners-up, and I suspect that both were composed of the same debaters. Good job!

Malaysia National Debating Championships Winners


Datuk Wira





SMK Convent Ipoh, Perak

SMK King George V,
Negeri Sembilan

SMK Green Road,  Sarawak


SMK Damansara

SMK Seafield, Selangor

SMK Damansara Jaya

Sekolah Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Perak


SMK Lok Yuk, Sabah

SMK Bukit Bandaraya, KL

SMK Taman SEA, Selangor

Sekolah Alam Shah, Putrajaya


Batu Pahat High School, Johor

SMK Damansara Jaya

SMK Damansara Jaya

St Xavier’s Institution, Penang


SMK Sultan Abu Bakar, Pahang

SMK Damansara Jaya

Royal Military College, Kuala Lumpur

St Xavier’s Institution, Penang


Tsung Tsin High School, Sabah

SMK La Salle PJ, Selangor

SMK Damansara Jaya

St Xavier’s Institution, Penang


SMK Damansara Jaya

SMK Assunta, Selangor

SMK Subang Utama, Selangor

Royal Military College, Kuala Lumpur


SMK Convent Bukit Nanas, Kuala Lumpur

SMK Damansara Jaya


SMK Damansara Jaya

Sekolah Sri Garden, Kuala Lumpur


Combined Team,Sabah

SMK Damansara Jaya








Note that this is just about the first year when there have been no winners from the Klang Valley! Hahaha. It is the year of the underdogs; the year of the other Malaysia. Love it.

The hegemonic center of debating power is finally weakened man. Yay Perak, Sarawak, and Negeri Sembilan.

What we (hopefully) see is a gradual democritization of debate from some elite plaything of urban, Anglicized KL-PJ kids to a truly competitive exercise in mental and verbal jousting. 🙂

Also this is the second year in 10 years that SMKDJ hasn’t won a national title. Oh well. 🙂

So in the last ten years there have been, crudely speaking, 33 national debates. This is not exactly accurate as Taylor’s and the early stages of HELP and IIUM were mostly regional debates and thus Klang Valley-centric.

SMK Damansara Jaya alone has 10 titles, and if it were a state all by itself it would be on top of the list. 😉

Analysis by state:

Selangor: 15

Kuala Lumpur:  5

Penang: 3

Sabah: 3

Perak: 2

Johor: 1

Negeri Sembilan: 1

Pahang: 1

Putrajaya: 1

Sarawak: 1

So despite this year the Selangor-KL dominance is still pretty obvious.


Here is a video summary of the debate:

This year’s Wira was really early! Surprising.


Filed under Debate

7 responses to “Malaysia National Debating Championships Winners

  1. it’s about time you ditch blogdrive!!!

  2. hello! so my blogspot is one of your sources yea. haha. how did you find me anyway? are you a debater? where are you from?

  3. Jin


    so tell me, are you naturally genius or do you work really hard at getting perfect grades and curriculum? just wondering, because i just saw your resume and .. O_o;; wow.

  4. work smart play smart 😉

  5. Jin

    cool. damn respect wey. =)

  6. why must the trophies elude us during my senior year aihhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s