Malaysia National Debating Championships Winners

Methodist Boys’ School Kuala Lumpur (MBSKL) defeated SMK Damansara Utama (SMKDU) to win the IIUM Interschool Debating Championship 2010.



Added April 23:

Last Tuesday, the 9th IIUM Inter-School Debating Championship (English category) ended. The championship was won by SK (L) Methodist Kuala Lumpur. They defeated SMK Damansara Utama with a split decision of 6-3. The nine adjdudicators at the grand finals were Irzal, Azrul, Khalidah, Mizan, Ian Howell, Adiba, Don, Izzat and Alex MMUM. The motion of the grand finals was ‘THBT the face veil is just as much a symbol of female empowerment as the miniskirt’.

I adjudicated a few rounds during the weekends as well as on Monday morning. Overall I felt that the quality of debaters has slightly dropped in comparison to previous years. I also felt that there is an apparent difference in quality from to daily schools to the premier schools (SBP and MRSM). I feel that the daily schools are a lot more sound in persuading their cause or points. I had a chat with a good friend of mine via FB, who is also the the DCA (Irzal Kamal) for the championship. Below is the conversation that we had:

(read more here)


Malaysia National Debating Championships Winners

Year Datuk Wira Taylor’s HELP IIUM

Tan Sri Datuk Wira Abdul Rahman Arshad Debate Cup Taylor’s College Annual Inter-School Debate Competition Tan Sri Datuk Paduka Dr Hajjah Saleha Debate Cup IIUM Interschool Debating Championship
2010 Methodist Boys’ School, Kuala Lumpur
2009 SMK Convent Ipoh, Perak SMK King George V,
Negeri Sembilan
SMK Green Road,  Sarawak
2008 SMK Damansara
SMK Seafield, Selangor SMK Damansara Jaya Sekolah Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Perak
2007 SMK Lok Yuk, Sabah SMK Bukit Bandaraya, Kuala Lumpur SMK Taman SEA, Selangor Sekolah Alam Shah, Putrajaya
2006 Batu Pahat High School, Johor SMK Damansara Jaya SMK Damansara Jaya St Xavier’s Institution, Penang
2005 SMK Sultan Abu Bakar, Pahang SMK Damansara Jaya Royal Military College, Kuala Lumpur St Xavier’s Institution, Penang
2004 Tsung Tsin High School, Sabah SMK La Salle PJ, Selangor SMK Damansara Jaya St Xavier’s Institution, Penang
2003 SMK Damansara Jaya SMK Assunta, Selangor SMK Subang Utama, Selangor Royal Military College, Kuala Lumpur
2002 SMK Convent Bukit Nanas, Kuala Lumpur SMK Damansara Jaya
2001 SMK Damansara Jaya Sekolah Sri Garden, Kuala Lumpur
2000 Combined Team,Sabah SMK Damansara Jaya

*repeat winners are colour-bolded


Filed under Blogroll, Debate

3 responses to “Malaysia National Debating Championships Winners

  1. hmm! i heard ’99 taylors champion had this hot guy on their team

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s