Malaysia National Debating Championships Winners

St Michael’s Institution, Ipoh (SMI) defeated SMK La Salle Petaling Jaya to win HELP University College’s Tan Sri Datuk Paduka Dr Hajjah Saleha Debate Cup 2010.


St Michael’s was previously national runners-up for HELP (2006, 2005) and Wira a couple of years back, and I think this is their first trophy in many years.Very nice!

(I’ve never gotten over these debate competitions and their grandiloquent names)


Malaysia National Debating Championships Winners

Year Datuk Wira Taylor’s HELP IIUM

Tan Sri Datuk Wira Abdul Rahman Arshad Debate Cup Taylor’s College Annual Inter-School Debate Competition Tan Sri Datuk Paduka Dr Hajjah Saleha Debate Cup IIUM Interschool Debating Championship
2010 St Michael’s Institution, Perak Methodist Boys’ School, Kuala Lumpur
2009 SMK Convent Ipoh, Perak SMK King George V,
Negeri Sembilan
SMK Green Road,  Sarawak
2008 SMK Damansara
SMK Seafield, Selangor SMK Damansara Jaya Sekolah Tuanku Abdul Rahman, Perak
2007 SMK Lok Yuk, Sabah SMK Bukit Bandaraya, Kuala Lumpur SMK Taman SEA, Selangor Sekolah Alam Shah, Putrajaya
2006 Batu Pahat High School, Johor SMK Damansara Jaya SMK Damansara Jaya St Xavier’s Institution, Penang
2005 SMK Sultan Abu Bakar, Pahang SMK Damansara Jaya Royal Military College, Kuala Lumpur St Xavier’s Institution, Penang
2004 Tsung Tsin High School, Sabah SMK La Salle PJ, Selangor SMK Damansara Jaya St Xavier’s Institution, Penang
2003 SMK Damansara Jaya SMK Assunta, Selangor SMK Subang Utama, Selangor Royal Military College, Kuala Lumpur
2002 SMK Convent Bukit Nanas, Kuala Lumpur SMK Damansara Jaya
2001 SMK Damansara Jaya Sekolah Sri Garden, Kuala Lumpur
2000 Combined Team,Sabah SMK Damansara Jaya

*repeat winners are colour-bolded

1 Comment

Filed under Debate

One response to “Malaysia National Debating Championships Winners

  1. Andrew Wong

    Woot…my school!!! Runners-up in 2005 (my team).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s